Ambassadors

crescent henry trail bar ambassador

Crescent Henry

Nickname:

People just call me Crescent. But my dad was a mechanic so I was named after the Crescent Wrench.

Where are you from?

Born in Oahu Hawaii but I’ve lived all over since then due to my family moving a lot and being an Officer in the Air Force.

Where do you currently live?

Spanish Springs, Nevada

Tell us about yourself:

I’ve always been down for a good adventure. Before I was 9 I moved 13 times. I’ve lived as far west as Hawaii, as far east as Ohio, and everywhere in between. I’m able to transition from sand to snow effortlessly. I got my undergraduate degree at the University of Nevada- Reno and my masters degree from Baylor. Both in Nutrition. I was a dietitian for the Air Force but separated at the rank of Captain and moved back to Reno to be closer to family. I work full-time as a Registered Dietitian, I am a Certified Specialist in Sports Dietetics (CSSD) and have my own business “Battle Born Nutrition”. Between work, being a mom to my 2.5-year-old son and my own adventures, I’m pretty busy. Any down time I have is spent with family or the occasional nap.

What’s your favorite outdoor activity and why:

I love anything outside but one of my favorite activities is trail running. I love the challenge to my body, the beautiful view, trying to keep up with my dog Bevo (a Rottweiler-pit mix) and it always seems to leave my body refreshed. And I like refueling my body so that it’s ready to preform next time.

What’s your favorite season?

Its hard to pick one but I’d say fall. I love the crispness of the air, it’s still warm enough to go hiking or running and the anticipation of the cool weather is exciting.

What’s one song you could listen to forever, for the rest of your life?

It’s nerdy but God Bless the USA by Lee Greenwood. It brings me to tears and motivates me to be better.

What’s your proudest accomplishment?

I’ve done a lot of things I’m proud of. But one accomplishment that was fun was running for the Fort Sam Huston Army running team in the Army Ten Miler in Washington DC. Our female running team came in 5th place (which was really good) and I was able to keep a 7 minute mile pace for 10 miles. That’s 10 miles in 70 minutes. That’s fairly fast for me. Someone pointed out that I was technically a “professional athlete” since the military paid me to go run and represent the base.

If you had one wish, what would it be?

I would wish to be able to travel more.

What’s one goal you have this year?

My main goal this year is to spend less time on “things” and more time on “experiences” or memories.

Why is plant-based, non-GMO, gluten free fuel important to you?

As a Registered Dietitian and a mom, what I put in my mouth or my sons mouth is important. Food is fuel and I want our bodies to be running on premium. Additionally, more and more evidenced based literature is showing the great benefits of a plant-based diet.

Is there anything else you would like to share with us? Got any big plans this summer?

No big plans for the summer other then spending as much time outside as possible. I want to help foster a love for the outdoors and exploring in my son.

0
Cart